“Lectures that are a one-way mode of communicating content will be a thing of the past.” -Debbie Morrison 2015

This was my ‘aha’ moment. I tend to do lectures on my on line courses. I am aware that I need to create a more interactive setting. This just verified what I believe; I need to learn all the interactive features of the program I teach on. Just being in PIDP I already see a completely different style than the style we are using in my courses. I want to take ideas from both and bring them together. I am actually thinking of setting up short videos for my students as VCC does it in this program. It is nice to see the person instructing you also lecturing in a video.

I also have recognized how having videos can improve my learners knowledge and learning outcomes. I have started planning different videos for my students. I actually really had this particular quote speak volumes to me and also this reminded me of how as an instructor it is always important to know the new teaching methodologies and techniques that are out there.

Leave a Reply

